National Law Universities (NLU)

National Law Universities (NLU) are public law schools in India, founded pursuant to the second-generation reforms for legal education sought to be implemented by the Bar Council of India.

The first NLU was the National Law School of India University aka NLS Bangalore which admitted its first batch in 1988. Since then, most of the states in India have established NLUs. Currently there are 24 active NLUs across the country.

Since their inception, these law schools have continuously been ranked as India’s most prestigious and premier law schools by various agencies, they are also known as the IITs of Legal Education.

List of National Law Universities (NLU)

1National Law School of India UniversityNLSIU (or) NLS1986BengaluruKarnataka
2National Law Institute UniversityNLIU1997BhopalMadhya Pradesh
3National Academy of Legal Studies and ResearchNALSAR1998HyderabadTelangana
4West Bengal National University of Juridical SciencesWBNUJS1999KolkataWest Bengal
5National Law University JodhpurNLUJ1999JodhpurRajasthan
6Hidayatullah National Law UniversityHNLU2003Naya RaipurChhattisgarh
7Gujarat National Law UniversityGNLU2003GandhinagarGujarat
8Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law UniversityRMLNLU2005LucknowUttar Pradesh
9National University of Advanced Legal StudiesNUALS2005KochiKerala
10Rajiv Gandhi National University of LawRGNUL2006PatialaPunjab
11Chanakya National Law UniversityCNLU2006PatnaBihar
12National Law University DelhiNLUD2008New DelhiDelhi
13Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law UniversityDSNLU2008AnakapalliAndhra Pradesh
14National Law University OdishaNLUO2009CuttackOdisha
15National Law University and Judicial AcademyNLUJA2009GuwahatiAssam
16National University of Study and Research in LawNUSRL2010RanchiJharkhand
17Tamil Nadu National Law UniversityTNNLU2012TiruchirapalliTamil Nadu
18Maharashtra National Law University MumbaiMNLUM2014MumbaiMaharashtra
19Maharashtra National Law University NagpurMNLUN2016NagpurMaharashtra
20Himachal Pradesh National Law UniversityHPNLU2016ShimlaHimachal Pradesh
21Maharashtra National Law University, AurangabadMNLUA2017AurangabadMaharashtra
22Dharmashastra National Law UniversityDNLU2018JabalpurMadhya Pradesh
23Dr. B.R. Ambedkar National Law UniversityDBRANLU2012 SonipatHaryana
24National Law University TripuraNLUT2022AgartalaTripura
25National Law University MeghalayaNLUM2023ShillongMeghalaya