National Institutes of Design (NID)

The National Institutes of Design (NIDs) are a group of autonomous public design universities in India, with the primary institute, founded in 1961, in Ahmedabad, with extension campuses in Gandhinagar and Bengaluru. The other NIDs are located in the cities of Kurukshetra, Vijayawada, Jorhat and Bhopal.

The NIDs function autonomously under the Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade (DPIIT), Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Government of India.

The NIDs are recognised by the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research of the government’s Ministry of Science and Technology as a scientific and industrial research organisation.

The universities are accorded Institutes of National Importance under the National Institute of Design Act, 2014.

List of National Institutes of Design (NIDs)

Sr. No.InstituteCityStateFounded
1National Institute of Design, AhmedabadAhmedabadGujarat1961
2National Institute of Design, Andhra PradeshVijayawadaAndhra Pradesh2015
3National Institute of Design, HaryanaKurukshetraHaryana2016
4National Institute of Design, Madhya PradeshBhopalMadhya Pradesh2019
5National Institute of Design, AssamJorhatAssam2019